Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

Thank you to Hachette Australia and Hodder & Stoughton for the ARC

This is the first book in the Six Crimson Cranes duology.

A princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and an unspeakable curse… Drawing from fairy tales and East Asian folklore, this original fantasy from the author of Spin the Dawn is perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.

Shiori’anma, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. Forbidden magic runs through her veins. Normally she conceals it well, but on the morning of her betrothal ceremony, Shiori loses control. At first, her mistake seems like a stroke of luck, forestalling the wedding she never wanted. But it also catches the attention of Raikama, her stepmother.

A sorceress in her own right, Raikama banishes the young princess, turning her brothers into cranes. She warns Shiori that she must speak of it to no one: for with every word that escapes her lips, one of her brothers will die.

Penniless, voiceless, and alone, Shiori searches for her brothers, and uncovers a dark conspiracy to seize the throne. Only Shiori can set the kingdom to rights, but to do so she must place her trust in a paper bird, a mercurial dragon, and the very boy she fought so hard not to marry. And she must embrace the magic she’s been taught all her life to forswear–no matter what the cost.

I loved diving back into the world of The Blood of Stars Duology.

Six Crimson Cranes is set before The Blood of Stars duology but you don’t have to read the other books to understand the story.

Six Crimson Cranes follow Shiori who is the princess of Kiata who is trying to save her brothers and the kingdom. I loved the world building and enjoyed following Shiori throughout.

The characters were all interesting and loved the pacing of meeting new characters. Shiori is such a strong character and loved her interactions with all the people she met. Her relationship with her brothers Hosho, Reiji, Yotan, Wandei, Benkai and Anadahai were all unique and different which was a joy to see.

I loved meeting her fiancé as well as Sergu and liked how these relationships changed.

I throughly enjoyed Six Crimson Cranes and I can’t wait to see what happens in the next book.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


One thought on “Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s