Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

This is the first book in the Serpent & Dove trilogy

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave readers burning for more.

Serpent & Dove is full of magic that is hidden and the church is at the centre of everything. This enemies to lovers story between witches and witch hunters is beautifully written and I couldn’t put it down.

Mahurin created a world and characters that make you care what happens. The main protagonists of the story is Lou and Reid. Lou is a strong, independent women who knows what she wants and will do anything to get it. Lou and her best friend Coco are both witches though they come from two different families.

The love interest Reid is a witch hunter for the church and gets intertwined with Lou through marriage. I really enjoyed seeing the relationship between Lou and Reid come about.

The friendships between Lou and Coco as well as Lou and Ansel were lovely to read about.

The world was beautifully created by Mahurin that I can see myself with alongside the action. The themes of prejudice and preconceived notions of what’s wrong and right but is dealt well by Mahurin.

Overall I loved Serpent & Dove and the cliffhanger has left me wanting the next book immediately.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s